Fri 17 March 2023 at 7:30pm in Routh Hall, Bromsgrove School, B61 7DU

Birmingham Philharmonic Chamber Ensemble

  • Saint-Saens: Septet in E Flat Op 65
  • Copland: Appalachian Spring (original chamber version)
  • Richard Strauss: Symphony for Wind Instruments ‘The Happy Workshop’
The musicians of the Birmingham Philharmonic Orchestra return to perform three works that represent the very best of the chamber music repertoire, but on a slightly larger scale than we are used to. We start with the idyllic setting that is Appalachian Spring, by Copland, and finish with a work of symphonic proportions by Richard Strauss, passing through France with Saint Saens’ glorious Septet for trumpet, piano and strings. Strauss’s Happy Workshop celebrates recovery from illness, appropriate for these times!

2022 - 2023 Season

( select highlighted concert for full information )